Junior College Team & Solo Quizzes, Speculative Fiction Quiz and Ganesh Nayak Open Quiz – Results

Results of quizzes held on Sunday 6 November 2009 at the Institute of Agricultural Technologists, Queen’s Road, Bangalore.

Junior College Team Quiz

QM: Arul Mani

1. Deeksha Centre for Learning (Anurup, Vivek, Rohit) – 139
2. Frank Anthony Public School (Arvind V., Gayathri Naveen, Nagaratna Patil) – 123
3. Christ Junior College (Bhargava V., Harish K.M., Bharath Shankar G.) – 95.5
4. Sri Kumarans Childrens Home (Arjun S, Sashank K, Sudarshan P.S.) – 81
5. Sri Bhagawan Mahaveer Jain College (Suraj, Deepak, Tiwari) – 77
6. National College (Richie Kushalappa, Vignesh A.G., Vijay Kumar V.) – 71
7. Christ Junior College (Mridul Agarwal, Koushik Sekar, Mohit Bohra) – 7

Junior COllege Solo Quiz, to decide the Junior Collegiate Solo Quizzing Champion for 2009

QM: Arul Mani

1. P.S. Sudarshan (Sri Kumarans Childrens Home) – 89
2. Anurup A.K. (Deeksha Centre for Learning) – 67
3. Deepak G. (Sri Bhagawan Mahaveer Jain College) – 61 (by tie-break)
4. Arvind (Frank Anthony Public School) – 61
5. Sashank (Sri Kumarans Childrens Home – CBSE) – 55
6. Suma S. (Christ Junior College) & Ameya (Christ Junior College) – 44
8. Suraj Prabhu (Sri Bhagawan Mahaveer Jain College) & Vivek (Deeksha Centre for Learning) – 42

Chronosynchlastic Infundibulum, a quiz on Speculative Fiction

QM: Thejaswi Udupa

1. Chota MQ (Mitesh Agarwal & Varun Rajiv) – 23 (winner by tie-break)
2. MQ (Arul Mani & Santhosh Swaminathan) – 23
3. We Are Like This (W)only (Anustup Datta & Arun Hiregange) – 22.5

The Ganesh Nayak Memorial Open Quiz

QMs: Gautam Shenoy, Siddharth Shanker, Jaidev Karunakaran and Anil Raghavan of Insert Cool Name Here

1. Metaquizziks (Arul Mani, Mitesh Agarwal, Varun Rajiv, Santhosh Swaminathan) – 175
2. We Are Like This (W)only (Ochintya Sharma, Thejaswi Udupa, Anustup Datta, Arun Hiregange) – 155
3. Keep Distance (Rahul S. Kottalgi & team) – 125
4. Goat Boys (Cheriyan Alexander & team) – 110
5. Mustafa (Debashree Mitra, Lahar Appaiah, Dr. NVS Krishnan & team) – 105
6. NITK (Sandeep, Sriharsha, Aditya, Kaustubh) – 75
7. Neo Nexus (Venky, Ravi, Praveen VR, Kivi) – 60
8. Cunning Lingas (Bharat, Sumer, Tanmay, Lalith) – 40

Quizzes on Sunday 6 December 2009

We will hold three quizzes on Sunday, 6th December 2009, at The Institution of Agricultural Technologists, Queen’s Road, Bangalore.

Ranking Junior College Quizzes

Team Quiz
Open to PUC/Std. XI and XII only
Teams of three members
Entry Fee: Rs. 50/- per team
Unlimited entries per college
Max Rule: No more than two teams per college in the finals.

Solo Quiz
Open to PUC/Std. XI and XII only
Two contestants per college
Entry Fee: Rs. 25 per entrant.

QM: Arul Mani

Team Quiz Prelims: 1000hrs
Solo Quiz Prelims: 1030hrs
Team Quiz Finals: 1100hrs-1200hrs
Solo Quiz Finals: 12noon to 1245hrs.

Team Quiz: Rs. 3000/-, Rs. 2250/- and Rs. 1500 plus prizes for all finalists
Solo Quiz: Rs. 1000/-, Rs. 750/- and Rs. 500 plus prizes for all finalists

Chronosynchlastic Infundibulum
A written quiz on Speculative Fiction

50 questions
Teams of two members
Entry Fee: Rs. 50/-

Prizes: Rs. 1500, Rs. 1000/- and Rs. 750/-

QM: Thejaswi Udupa

1330hrs to 1500hrs

Those who’d like to know more about the quiz may send a mail with the subject-header WTF SF? to thejaswi.udupa @gmail.com

The Ganesh Nayak Memorial Open Quiz

Open to all
Teams of four members
Entry Fee: Rs. 50/-
Free entry for school teams ( VIII-X)

QMs: Gautam Shenoy, Siddharth Shanker, Jaidev Karunakaran and Anil Raghavan of Insert Cool Name Here

Registrations: 1500hrs
Prelims and Finals: 1530hrs-1830hrs

Rs. 1000/-, Rs. 800/-, Rs. 700/- and Rs. 600/- for other finalists.

We will also hold The Karan-Arjun Quizzes for Stds III and IV and the National Open Quizzing Championships: Mega-Whats 2009 at the same venue on 13th December 2009, the following Sunday, at the same venue.

Askqance – The KQA Silver Jubilee Quiz Festival

ASKQANCE 25th Anniversary

The Karnataka Quiz Association celebrates the 25th anniversary of its founding this year.  ASKQANCE 2008, our anniversary quiz festival will now feature nine quizzes to be held over two days.

This year’s ASKQANCE is supported by TVS Tyres who also celebrate their 25th anniversary.

The Dates:

The Venues:

Saturday 28th June

Old Hall, St. Joseph’s Boys High School
Museum Road

Sunday 29th June

Purandara Bhavan
(Indiranagar Sangeetha Sabha)
8th Main Road
(Near Indiranagar Club)

The Quizzes

Quizzes on Saturday, 28th June

KQA Intercollegiate Championships
(featuring two separate finals for junior college and collegiate teams)
3-member teams
No entry fee
No mixed teams allowed
Registration: 09:30a.m.
Start: 10:00a.m. sharp
Junior Finals: 11:00a.m.-12:00 noon
College Finals: 1200 noon -1:00p.m.
Prizes totalling Rs. 10,000 to be won.
QMs: Ochintya Sharma, Rajeev Gowda and Thejaswi Udupa

The Third edition of the Bangalore Quiz
2-member teams
Open to all
Entry fee: Rs. 50/-
Start: 1:30 p.m
Prizes: Rs. 2000/-, Rs. 1500/- and Rs. 1000/-
QM: Arul Mani

Open Entertainment Quiz
Teams of 4 members
Entry Fee: Rs. 200/-
Start: 3:00p.m.
Finals: 4:00p.m. – 6:00p.m.
Prizes totalling Rs. 20,000/- to be won
QMs: Kiran Vijayakumar and Madhav Nair

Venkatesh and Vivek Karthikeyan will coordinate an Informal Sports
Quiz beginning at 1:00p.m. The best five individual entries in this written
contest will win prizes.

Quizzes on Sunday, 29th June (at Purandara Bhavan)

High School Quiz Championships
Teams of 2 members
A maximum of 6 teams per school
No entry fee
Prelims: 10 a.m
QM: Dibyendu Das

High School Solo Championship
Start: 12:30 p.m
QM: Mitesh Agarwal

Prizes totalling Rs. 10,000/-

Rajagopal PS will coordinate an Informal Science Quiz, open to all, starting at 1100hrs. Prizes for the best five individual entries.

Sesame – The Open Quiz

Teams of 4 members
Open to all
Entry Fee: Rs. 100/-
Free entry for school teams
Prelims: 2p.m.

TVS Tyres Ride Smart Round: 3:30pm

Finals: 4:15p.m.
QMs: Arun Hiregange and Arul Mani
Prizes totalling Rs. 25,000/-

KQA Silver Jubilee Ceremonies
6:00 p.m

All prizes and certificates will be given out during the ceremonies.

A map to help those who need directions to Purandara Bhavan for the quizzes on 29th June:

← Previous Page