Go Ogle 2021

Go Ogle, KQA’s online challenge quiz, was instituted in 2005, as savage New Year’s Eve fun. Previous editions may be viewed here and here.
We are restarting the quiz this year. Go Ogle  opens at 9 pm, on 1st January 2022,  and will close at 9 am on Sunday, 9th January 2022.
This year’s contest is open to solo participants and to teams of two. Young Thomas Masun may be thrown into an identity crisis, but all you need to do is decide whose head you want to scratch.
The quiz can be accessed here, and from our social media handles on Twitter and Facebook. .
You are welcome to Google, as always.
Happy new year, and more quizzing, hopefully!

KQA activities in July 2021

KQA will host a Fortnightly Katte starting from Sunday, 18 July 2021, off our Discord server till such time as it becomes feasible to revert to  live quizzes.

Theme: Abbreviations and Acronyms
Time: 11 am-12: 30 pm, 18th July 2021

QM: Arul Mani

ˈA Katte is a raised platform, outside a house, or around a tree, where people can get together and chat, and drink tea or coffee.

KQA’s Fortnightly Katte will have about 15 questions set around an idea or a theme. No points will be awarded, nor are there any prizes. Just the very small joy of working a question out, without the aid of a search engine.

Since Discord supports video only for 25 people at a time, we will take people into the live quiz on a first come first served basis, and will close entries after we have reached capacity. . Others can spectate in a limited fashion on Discord; we will also publish the questions here for those who missed the session.

We will also resume Go Ogle Redux, our online frustration game involving quizzing, from 31 July 2021. This modified version is open to all, and will be put up at 9 am for all takers to solve within 24 hours. Team size is restricted to a maximum of 4 people.

KQA wishes all members and enthusiasts of quizzing safety and good health. Use this link if the prior one doesn’t work for you: https://discord.gg/PzW9sNjr

Go Ogle Redux January Prelims

Access the prelims here.

Open from 9:15 to 9:45 pm

GO Ogle Redux December 2020 Prelims

The Prelims are open till 9:15 pm, Click here

And the answers can be accessed here.


Go Ogle Redux November

If you missed the prelims, access them here:


The finals of Go Ogle Redux will be held at 8:30 pm, on Saturday 21 November 2020.  This will be a five round affair with one cryptic round and four never-before and never-again new rounds.

The finalists are:

1. Curry Troops – Nikhil Gupta, Adheesh Ghosh, Adil Jacob

2. Strangers in Discord; Abhishek, Sohail, Paul, Arnuv

3. DireWolves, Atul, Prithwiraj, Bedbyas, Somasish

4. Pramod, Allen, Sachin

. FTL:: Aditya, Andrew, Ghanashyam, Apaar

6. B2B: Anirudh S, Swetha G, Nidhi S

7. The Moops of Spain (Jayakanthan, Ashwin, Gopal, Swami)

Go Ogle Redux Numbah 4

The Prelims for Go Ogle Redux will be posted at 8:30 pm today on three locations. Here, on our FB page and our server on Discord. No prior registration is required–even though the poster says so. That is only meant to  make you read the rules.

The quiz is open to teams of 4 members.
You will have to collaborate via WhatsApp or Discord messaging to answer the quiz, which will be on a Form (Google/MS)
The prelims are timed for 30 minutes, and will be held today (3 October 2020)
The answers will be given out immediately after the prelims on Discord.
The finals take place next Saturday.
Go Ogle is a fun quiz (for the setters) in that it attempts to frustrate those who Google. We don’t discourage you from Googling. The quiz might.

There are good prizes, but they will be given out only after the pandemic has blown over a little bit. Today’s Go Ogle is set by Avinash Gajju Thirumalai, Venkataraman Ravindra and Arul Mani.

PRELIMS will start working at 8:45: Click here

Go Ogle Prelims on 5 September 2020

The third contest in our Go Ogle Redux series will be held on two Saturdays in September.

Prelims on 5th at 8 pm, and Finals on 12th, also at 8 pm.

You need a team of 4 members, and a capacity for persistence in the face of many things.

If you missed it, you can try it and view answers here.

Our qualifiers, for the finals on Saturday:

Ashutosh and Ayushman: 7.5
Wrichik Basu: 15
Jayakanthan, Samanth, Gopal, Swami: 39
Atul Mathew, Somashish Ghosh, Prithwiraj Mukherjee: 10
Adit Vishnu, Nishit Pandya, Julian D’Costa, Sabyasachi Basu: 22
Shafeeq S, Ashwin Menon, Prasanth John Abraham, Jyothi Mohan: 14
Debashree: 16
Shashwat, Aniruddh: 10

On Discord: https://discord.gg/tRnJde

Go Ogle Redux Prelims on 1 August 2020



We ran a small test-version of  our Go Ogle, souped-up, or down, for teams of four, in July. It was fun, for the QM. So we are having it again. If there is any enthu, we might have it every month.

The rules

  1. Form a team of four, and register before 8 pm. Free entry.
  2. Attempt the prelims here, at 8:45 pm.
  3.  The form is timed to stop at 9:30 pm
  4. Answers at 9:30 pm, on our Discord server.
  5. 8 teams qualify, for the finals which are scheduled for the same time, next week.

Go Ogle?

We don’t like G0oglers. People do it, nevertheless. We try to make that effort hard, or pointless. With varying success. Bit of a test of endurance. Please don’t bring children, and delicate souls, poor things.

The questions are set by Arul Mani.  Feedback is a great thing for electric guitars.


Blossom Book House  coupons for top three teams. Will be given out at KQA Anniversary.

To view the questions
Click here.

Prelim Results:

49 teams registered, 25 completed. Our finalists, after checking thrice, are as follows:

  1.  QED, Jayakanthan, Samanth, Swami, Gopal:28
  2. BMQJ/WALTWO, Tups, Santosh, Manu, Udupa:27
  3. Aardvarks- Rahul, Amrit, Kaustubh, Arjo:21
  4. Shafeeq S, Ashwin Menon, Prasanth Vijay, Prasanth John Abraham:17
  5. Preetham Upadhya, Baibaswata Jena, Anshul Nasery, Adarsh Kumar Mohapatra:14
  6. Paddy Power. Anirudh, Shahswat, Kunal, Siddhanth:11
  7. Badagara to BengaluruL Anirudh, Swetha, Neetha, Gopinadhan: 5
  8. Ben Stokes: 3

The finals will beheld at about 8:30 pm on Saturday, 8th August on our Discord server.


Quizzers may be avid,
know their Homer from their Ovid;
But this’ll make ’em livid
We ain’ no match for Covid.


QMs who’d promised their final set of questions by the end of this week to their co-setters, heave a sigh of relief. Those who’d promised their QM friends that surely-this-time-definitely-100%-I’m-going-to-make-it-to-the-quiz, here’s your scapegoat.

Alas alack, ‘the situation and related concerns’ has come for the KQA – the regular season is suspended till further notice.

We have any eye on it, and will update on the schedule once there’s more clarity – currently, better safe than sorry.


Stay safe, stay sensible. It’s only quizzing.

Quiz Night at the Courtyard — March 11th, 2020

Join us for edition 15 of Quiz Night at The Courtyard on Wednesday, 11th of March at 8:00 pm.

The KQA will celebrate Women’s Day with a quiz featuring startling and fun facts & trivia about women around the world. The quiz is set and conducted by Anuradha and Sreyashi.

It is a general quiz for teams of two. The quiz is open to all.

When: 8:00 pm on Wednesday, March 11th.

Where: The Courtyard, K H Road. [map]

Registration: ₹100/person. Prizes for top three finishers.

A prior reservation is not mandatory, but it would be helpful for the folks at the Courtyard to know that you’re coming – reserve your table by calling them at 73386 77996. Limited parking at the venue.

Note on parking: Very limited parking at the venue, so ideal to park either near St. Joseph’s College or the Shantinagar Bus Stand parking lot and walk up.

Next Page →